Quartet Casals
—Haydn, Shostakovich and Schubert




Quartet Casals
Vera Martínez Mehner, violin
Abel Tomàs, violin
Jonathan Brown, viola
Arnau Tomàs, cello


F. J. Haydn: String Quartet no. 6, op. 20
D. Shostakovich: String Quartet no. 10, in A flat major, op. 118
F. Schubert: String Quartet no. 14, in D minor, D. 810, “Death and the Maiden”


The Cuarteto Casals performs at the Palau de la Música Catalana . One of the great Catalan music ensembles, backed by an impressive international career and the admiration of audiences and critics alike. The Cuarteto Casals has become a benchmark for new generations of musicians.

Their expressive, excellent musicianship takes on Schubert’s Death and the Maiden , one of the most beautiful string quartets of all time, based on a poem by Matthias Claudius about a dying young woman and her reactions to her imminent demise.

Three snapshots of chamber music. Schubert's Death and the Maiden is joined by Haydn and Shostakovich ; the former considered the father of string quartets as a musical genre, and the latter one of the Cuarteto Casals’ favourite composers.

Information and tickets

Dates and tickets

  • 25 January 2023
    20:00 h
    Concert Hall

Production information

Prices: 35 €
Organized by: Fund.Orfeó Català-Palau de la Música


Other ways to purchase your tickets:


T. 932 957 207

Ticket Office

[email protected]
c/ Palau de la Música, 4-6, 08003 Barcelona

  • Monday to: from 9 am to 9 pm.
  • Saturdays: from 9.30 am to 9 pm.
  • Sunday and public holidays: from 9.30 am to 1 pm and 2 hours before the concert (for sale day).